Arts Factory Backpackers's Reviews

manon darling
fantastic place
5 May 2004
Maintenance
Cleanliness
Facilities
Atmosphere
By far my favourite hostel. I loved this place. There was so much going on there every night. They had daily yoga and drum lessons and fire dancing and a talent show and the aboriginal show, it was great. We stayed in an Isalnd retreat, and there were waterdragons and bush turkeys wandering around outside, it was just like what I imagined backpacking in Australia to be like. I reckon anyone who is looking for somewhere a bit different will love this place.

Was this review helpful?
stella kelly
certainly not a motel!
3 May 2004
Maintenance
Cleanliness
Facilities
Atmosphere
I stayed at the Arts Factory and loved it. It was such a refreshing change from alot of sterile hostels I stayed in on the East Coast. Sure it wasn't the cleanest and most modern place but it had so much character and charm. I was shocked to read the last review, I couldn't believe he was talking about the same place I stayed! I liked the fact it was a short stroll out of town because it was really peaceful, you didn't have all the traffic and bustle of the centre of town. I think anyone who rates a fantastic experience over a clean duvet cover should definately check this place out, I loved it.

Was this review helpful?
John Hoggins
Commercial sham!
17 January 2004
Maintenance
Cleanliness
Facilities
Atmosphere
What a sham - this 'alternative' hang out is the most commercial place I have seen in byron bay. The different forms of accomodation are the only thing going for it. Apart from that: 1) Rude staff that are too busy thinking they are 'cool' and 'alternative' to even give you the time of day. 2) Absolutely filthy showers and toilets where they seem to continutally hammer tiles, turn off the water, etc... 3) Kitchen that is about the right size for a quarter of the people that use it. Every day we had to queue for 30+ mins just to get a saucepan, let alone a hob to cook on. 4) Horrendously overpriced accomodation for the quality and facilities. There are FAR better hostels in B.B. The list goes on... We stayed in an 'island retreat' for a few nights. It was pretty cool to wake up to a view of the water and lizards on the balcony. Unfortunately, as soon as it rained, it leaked. Then when we were finally able to move, the staff were unpleasant and acted like they'd done me a favour. Not what you'd expect for $65 a night. This place needs to clean up its act and stop living off a reputation that is out-of-date and bares no relation to what it has become.

Was this review helpful?
Pegske
Happy Birthday
19 December 2003
Maintenance
Cleanliness
Facilities
Atmosphere
I stayed in Arts during their festivity weekend. They had their 10th birthday of the place. So there was a function in the Buddha Bar for business relations, we could hear the music, but weren't invited. There was no welcome walk nor free wine, nor any other treat for the guests. I was gonna eat in the Buddha bar the next day, but the prices didn't appeal to me. It's a bit like Woodstock for yuppies, I thought. I only stayed for two nights. I did found a socket for my mobile in the waggon, but I do agree that it is not the most clean place I stayed in. The next day I had to move to a regular dorm. This was in the midst of Schoolies, so i do understand all the mix ups, but to me it was anoying at that time. I wanted to see a film in the Pighouse and again bad luck struck me: the sound died 20 minutes into the show, so money back. All in all, I didn't think much of it.

Was this review helpful?
Anonymous
not good
3 December 2003
Maintenance
Cleanliness
Facilities
Atmosphere
this place just proves the byron vibe is all fake.this is the dirtyist place i have ever had the misfortune to stay and i was recomended it!! what a joke 24 dollars a night and discount if you can handle 3 nights you deserve a medal if you stay 3

Was this review helpful?
Wakey
My worst nightmare
28 October 2003
Maintenance
Cleanliness
Facilities
Atmosphere
I totally agree with Christina. The Arts Factory is probably the worst hostel in the universe. We stayed in the 'wagon', for $20 per night - an absolute rip-off. I couldn't sleep because of the noise & cold wind, and at 6am I found CHICKENS walking around my bed, because the wagon did not have a door, only some small-mesh wire netting. That also meant that the wagon couldn't be locked or anything. Besides, there were no sockets/electricity which is really annoying if you want to recharge your mobile after a long journey. To make matters worse, the Arts Factory is located quite far from town. I can't imagine any sane people wanting to stay there voluntarily.

Was this review helpful?
Amanda
Nice place to relax
16 September 2003
Maintenance
Cleanliness
Facilities
Atmosphere
I had a wonderful time at the Arts Factory - my favourite hostel on the East coast. Although I wouldn't call myself a hippie, or much of a stoner, the laid back atmosphere was much fun, and the entertainment was always great. They seem to go the extra mile to make you comfortable. I would recommend it to anyone -

Was this review helpful?
James & Mel
Nice alternative to standard hostels
7 August 2003
Maintenance
Cleanliness
Facilities
Atmosphere
After an initally bad start to our stay at the Arts Factory (we stayed the first night in the Teepee, thinking it would be a bit of fun, when in fact it was full of pot-heads smoking the whole time and talking shit all through the night), we grew to really like the place. We moved for the rest of our stay to one of their Island Retreats which, while basic are really cute!! In terms of facilities, the hostel is pretty good, there's a nice restaurant and bar, fantastic alternative cinema and also a health spa with fantastic massages to sort your back out from carrying backpacks!

Was this review helpful?
leo
Loved this place
4 August 2003
Maintenance
Cleanliness
Facilities
Atmosphere
most fun I had in Australia, nice rooms, nice staff, nice people, heaps of activities. Loved Byron Bay too and this place was just perfect for the Byron vibe! Hope to go back one day!

Was this review helpful?
Fiona Gahan
The Only Hostel with genuine fun relaxed atmosphere!
27 July 2003
Maintenance
Cleanliness
Facilities
Atmosphere
I stayed at the Arts Factory when I was travelling in Oz last year. It was by far the best hostel in Australia that we stayed in and we travelled all round. The Arts Factory was not as plush as some of the places we stayed but it more than made up for it with all the activities and fun things they do there, ranging from yoga, didgereedoo lessons and firetwirling classes, to the Talent show and aboriginal culture show nights. They have also got the coolest cinema I have ever been in, with cow print sofa style chairs, and a mega big restaurant that's all candlelit and looks like it's an old warehouse, really nice. This place was the highlight of my trip, more than a place to stay it was a destination in itself. Hence the reason we ended up staying there for a month. Anyone going to Byron Bay, don't bother going anywhere else!!

Was this review helpful?
Squakz
best hostel in nsw
18 June 2003
Maintenance
Cleanliness
Facilities
Atmosphere
I thought this place was great. Lots of energy, lots of events, lots of fun. I stayed on "the island" double with my boyfriend. We thought it was great. Cool birds and Iguanas came around to visit us every morning. Its very hippy- but thats what makes it what it is! If you want something different from your average hostel- go here.

Was this review helpful?
Christina Luckham
AWFUL place
30 April 2003
Maintenance
Cleanliness
Facilities
Atmosphere
I'm sorry, I don't know what these people are raving about. I found the Arts Factory to be dirty, noisy and full of the most clueless idiots I have ever had to misfortune to meet. Such a cliche - people with dreadlocks and patchwork trousers, sitting around playing Bob Marley songs on the guitar (Like, how original) and talking about finding themselves (really). There was some weekly talent show on when i was there which consisted of awful interpretive dancing, some moron playing "peace pipes" and people making inane statements like "everyone in the world should live like backpackers. because backpackers live in peace and harmony". At least it provided some amusement, but if i'd gone there on my own i think i would have cried.... we stayed in the Teepee which i thought would be fun but instead i had to endure endless bongo "jam sessions" and was chastised for "not understanding" trance music. AGGGGHHH! And being stoned is no excuse. I was stoned most of the time i was there (i had to, to get away from the awfulness of it all) but it didn't make me talk out of my arse. I went there because i wanted something different and to get away from all the 21 year-old beer guzzling lads that frequented all the "party" hostels, but this was much, much worse. One of my least favourite hostels, EVER.

Was this review helpful?
Anonymous
The best way possible to experience Byron Bay
9 September 2002
Maintenance
Cleanliness
Facilities
Atmosphere
This hostel has got to be the best hostel that I have stayed in Oz (up there with the Utopia, Cairns). It has such a laid-back atmosphere it is unbelieveable. They have free yoga and digeredoo lessons. The accomodation is great. The people there are very friendly. There is a cinema which had midnight movies. Also it is a great place to get stoned (and see big pythons)!!!

Was this review helpful?
Anonymous
This place has it all
13 April 2002
Maintenance
Cleanliness
Facilities
Atmosphere
How unusual? A sprawling 5 acre propery with heaps of different accommodationa and people. On Wed nights they have an aboriginal culture show which was unique and wonderful and absolutely. Very friendly and helpful staff. Lots to do and the best website I'v ever seen for a hostel.

Was this review helpful?
groove@watchmail.com
The Byron bay experience
26 December 2001
Maintenance
Cleanliness
Facilities
Atmosphere
Byron Bay's backpacker atmosphere can be experienced the best with the people you'll meet, funky places to varied accomdation, and the fun activites that are always floating around the Art's Factory. i stayed there over night in july. it was one of the only places with anything happening. i don't know what people's complaints are about it's location because it's about a five minute walk to the center of byron, if you follow the rest of of the people through the short cut. i'd like to stay here again.

Was this review helpful?
Nic
SOOOO WONDERFUL!!!
12 August 2001
Maintenance
Cleanliness
Facilities
Atmosphere
This hostel is just so terrific I don't know how anyone could stay anywhere else in Byron. The atmosphere is absolutely amazingly great, the staff are so friendly (especially the Canadian who drives the bus- yum! and the dude who makes pancakes- double yum!), the guests are all chilled and sweet, the accomodation is very reasonable and happy, the movies are the bestest, the activities are heaps of fun, etc etc etc- I could rave about this place forever and I still couldn't convey how great it is! STAY THERE!!! (no, I didn't get paid 4 this review...)

Was this review helpful?
Mea
funky arty haven- a bit out of the main bit of town
6 April 2001
Maintenance
Cleanliness
Facilities
Atmosphere
i havent actually stayed overnight here- but ive spent a day here- having breakfast and dinner and a movie here. its the type of place where some people might feel kind of out of place- where you come to breakfast and people are having a joint for breakfast and walking freely around. movies and food here a re great- movies are funky couches and they show big time movies that are just a bit out of date. the acoomodation looks cool but i think some of it is a but too near the mosquitoey swamp for me.. dorms / pool look good. i'd def. saty here though..

Was this review helpful?
Prev 1 2