Magnums's Reviews

Danni
Better hostels to stay in
8 July 2003
Maintenance
Cleanliness
Facilities
Atmosphere
Magnums was nice enough. I stayed in a twin room, which was tiny, but did have a kettle which is always useful. The food is reasonable, and it does have the advantage of being the party capital of Airlie Beach, but noise is not a problem as the bungalows are set back from the bar. However, Airlie Beach has many hostels and this is not one of the best.

Was this review helpful?
Markus
NOT AS IT SEEMS
26 June 2003
Maintenance
Cleanliness
Facilities
Atmosphere
I stayed at Magnums tiwce while I was in Australia and the first time was great, in September 2001, the Entertainer they had their was this Italian looking guy with a thick Aussie acent, he was great, the loacals called him Mickeyrage, I think I now know why? He had a crowd of about 400 people in this outside eatery/bar in the palm of his hand, getting people up on stage to play all these silly but verry funny games in return for a pitcher of beer. And then latter that night in the Nightclub he hosted this Wet T-Shirt competition with these 6 nice looking girls from all over the world, but he made it a really great night for eveyone in the crowd and it looked as if the girls where having as good as time on stage with him as well as everyone else. But when I stayed again last year, they had this guy called Adrian doing the entertainment, what a rude JERK! He was rude to everyone! Even more so to the girls on stage, how the owners let this man get away with it should be a crime. And there was no service at the bars this time, we had to wait no less than 25 minutes just to get a drink of water and even then we had to pay $2.00 for it. It was terrible and dirty too, the restrooms looked as if they had not been cleaned in months & smelled like it too. NEVER AGIAN! And Reefo's was twice as BAD! Next time I will stay at one of the smaller more friendly Backpackers as we did the last visit to Airlie Beach.

Was this review helpful?
PurpleCrabz
BED-BUG CRAZY
7 June 2003
Maintenance
Cleanliness
Facilities
Atmosphere
Imagine if you will, watching your friend lying asleep on his bed while 20 or so bed bugs dance round him. Luckily for him they don't bite him, but they do me. I am used to being bitten, and wasn't that concerned Informed reception as I checked out and they said...so you are checking out then!! I think the fact that the reception girls are paid on commision for tour sales they make would make them less than enthusiastic at wasting time on the mere hostel guests. As for the noise, maybe ok if u r 16-18 but after that its a bit much. After such a pleasant experience sailing the whitsundays this was....Disappointing.

Was this review helpful?
Nathan
Cleanliness? Never heard of it!
30 April 2003
Maintenance
Cleanliness
Facilities
Atmosphere
I think Tricia from Canada might be on the payroll! Her review doesn't mention that the place is filthy! Yes it is right in the middle of town - along with the nightclubs and bars, so music and noise until 3am....no thanks. And the staff obviously don't worry about customer service! You might have heard that joke about not being able to complain about the service cos there isn't any? Well, this is the place they were talking about! It is crap.

Was this review helpful?
Tricia
In the middle of all the action in Arlie Beach!
16 February 2003
Maintenance
Cleanliness
Facilities
Atmosphere
This hostel provides the perfect mix of friendly laid back hostel life and excellent party facilities. If you are in Airlie Beach and heading out to the Whitsunday Islands, the travel desk is great for hunting around for the best trips and deals for you. For a great night out in Airlie you need go no further than Magnums great bar and night club, the nightly backpacker games and drink specials are sure to make your night a memorable one...check out the foam party and jelly wrestling! Then sleep off the hangover and get some sun at the same time down at the lagoon that is only accross the street. Great Value, Great Parties, Great Experience.

Was this review helpful?
Anonymous
The disappearing kitchen
14 November 2002
Maintenance
Cleanliness
Facilities
Atmosphere
Firstly I have to say this hostel advertised itself as having a self catering kitchen. IT DOES NOT HAVE ONE. when you get there there is a sign saying "we prefer to have a breakfast room rather than a full kitchen" or some such rubbish. There is a room at the back with some microwaves and kettles. Strangely enough, they have their own cafe, and try to sell you meals with the accomm price. Could this be connected with the lack of kitchen- draw your own conclusions. By the way, the food in their cafe was the worst I have eaten in Australia. The dorms were ok - the cabins out the back looked quite nice but cost more. The setting in gardens was nice and the bar was ok- but if I don't think we need to hear "The last train out of Sydney..." every night.

Was this review helpful?
The Chubby One
cool place
21 March 2002
Maintenance
Cleanliness
Facilities
Atmosphere
Sorry about the person experience will Elizabeth, I found help and very freindly. It a great place to party. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?
Anonymous
boardwalk entertainers are great
31 January 2002
Maintenance
Cleanliness
Facilities
Atmosphere
i was stayin in airlie some time a go and there was this guy named justin he was very helpful to us on arriving he gave our table a free jug of beer and was so nice to us he also did the entertainment on the board walk funny guy great job where is he now? but the hostel is a great place and you should check it out

Was this review helpful?
Anonymous
All good till we met the staff
7 January 2002
Maintenance
Cleanliness
Facilities
Atmosphere
Had heard great reviews about magnums. On arriving to Airlie Beach headed straight up to the Magnums reception where we met the apparant manager of the resort. ( Elizabeth). To be spoken to and gestured to for no reason by her was enough to walk out with 8 others. Sorry, it may bE A GREAT RESORT BUT THERE IS NO WAY I WAS GOING TO GIVE THAT BITCH ANY OF MY MONEY. talking to others in Airlie and i gained the same feedback, My advise, go to Reefo's

Was this review helpful?
Dany
tropical
17 December 2001
Maintenance
Cleanliness
Facilities
Atmosphere
The best hostel in Airlie Beach. Really nice doubles, comfortable, clean, tropical garden, in centre of town, friendly staff. A good choice!

Was this review helpful?
Anonymous
comfy and clean
5 June 2001
Maintenance
Cleanliness
Facilities
Atmosphere
good double rooms,with fridge, kettle, and air con. Really clean and comfortable, tropical style rooms. nice.

Was this review helpful?
Prev 1 2